Discussion Question Entry- Inclusion & Technology

Recently, I read “Inclusion in the 21st-century classroom: Differentiating with Technology”, by Bobby Hobgood and Lauren Ormsby. First, the article discussed the use of technology with inclusion students through the use of various digital storytelling, blogs, digital textbooks, moodles, blackboards, and Discovery Education videos, as well as many other resources. Second, Hobgood and Ormsby discussed the elements of good differentiated teaching and how technology can be integrated into it. Then they discussed how different grouping scenarios are most effectively used with technology.

In my own experience, there are many factors to take into account in the inclusion classroom, especially with technology. Usability, readability, behavior and motivation are all factors that I have had to deal with when taking one of my inclusion classes to the computer lab. In inclusion, differentiation is essential, and I will admit that it is has been difficult trying to do this on a paper/book basis. The article makes a good case for using technology to differentiate curriculum.

My questions come from the lack of age group placed on this topic. Is there an age group of an inclusion class that this might be more effective in than others? Are there some inclusion students that that wouldn’t benefit from this?

 

3 thoughts on “Discussion Question Entry- Inclusion & Technology

  1. Alyssa, I’m not sure about age range, but I can tell you that in my own field of K-12 online learning it is with students who possess some form of learning disabilities that online learning may have the greatest potential. My own instincts well me that the same is true for the use of technology in general. My gut also tells me that with the use of technology, and the affordances that it CAN provide, it will allow inclusion to be used at younger and younger ages.

  2. I agree. I had class with a kindergarten teacher last semester and her viewpoint was similar because she was using Ipads in her classes. But I think it really depends on the type of inclusion student. I know that in the high school age group, some of my students wouldn’t be able to do the simplest of computer operations. But the younger they start using the technology, the more comfortable the students will be with it. I wish that I had had the opportunities that kids have today when I was younger.

    • I was thinking more along the lines of the assistive technologies that are available now. These tend to be getting better and better (although can also be quite costly to a school and/or school district).

Leave a Reply

